April 6, 2024

Five Star Sport

Sports Tips & Best Gear Reviews

Finalists Announced for ASC Media Awards

2 min read
Finalists announced for ASC Media Awards

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is excited to reveal the Media Awards finalists for this year.

The Media Awards honor the best in Australian sports journalism, broadcasting, production, and photography and have been given out for more than 20 years. They are the only specifically designated sports media awards in Australia.

The finalists come from a variety of media organizations, with the majority coming from News Corp, Nine newspapers, the Seven Network, ABC, The Guardian, Fox Sports, and SBS. As finalists, a number of new media outlets are also included.

Tracey Holmes and Amanda Shalala from ABC, News Corp veteran Julian Linden, and Emma Kemp from The Guardian have all been named as finalists in two different categories for their work throughout the nomination period.

This year, two new categories were added, with the growing podcast genre receiving its own category and sporting clubs and organizations being recognized for their contributions to creating their own content.

Kieren Perkins OAM, CEO of ASC, said it was wonderful to see such a wide range of media organizations showing such strong interest.

“The ASC Media Awards are highly regarded in the industry, as evidenced by the record number of entries we received across the 12 categories.”

“The media continues to play a crucial role in telling the stories that tie us to sport, whether they are covering major international sporting events or looking into regional and remote Australia-specific sporting issues.

“It is encouraging to see coverage that is diverse in terms of gender, race, and ability because, as part of the Green and Gold decade we are entering, this is a key focus for the ASC and the sports sector more generally.”

On February 16, 2023, finalists will be invited to an awards ceremony at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Additionally, the ASC will reveal the new winner of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award, which was given to renowned AFL journalist Mike Sheahan last year.

Reference: https://www.sportaus.gov.au/media-centre/news/finalists-announced-for-asc-media-awards

Share with Your Friends!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.